Home > Opinion, Video > A Bright Idea

A Bright Idea

Do you realize that by 2014, you the American citizen, will be required to purchase only Chinese made CFL’s?  I don’t know about you but I’m filling my attic with Mr. Edison’s invention prior to this deadline.  This ‘free country’ is becoming less and less so, I fear.  Anyone want to weigh in on this topic and convince me how great they are?  Expensive as hell.  Crappy yellow tinted light, and mercury in every one of them.  And the jury is still out on how they outlast a traditional bulb.  I’ve had more of them fail then I care to take back to Menards for a replacement, that much is for sure.  The following video is for your viewing pleasure.  Please give it a go.

Categories: Opinion, Video
  1. Mark
    April 24, 2009 at 14:10

    Hey,

    I actually use them, and have noticed that they last longer. I don’t have any hard evidence, though.

    The issue I have is the mercury issue. I don’t know how much are in them, but I do think it’s an issue that has been overlooked. They do address one issue, but they seem to create another, big issue.

    Here’s another issue. I haven’t found one yet that works with a dimmer. I also don’t think the physics of the bulbs allow them to be dimmed. The fluorescence is a step function, they are either on or off.

    ME.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

