Home > Opinion, Politics > Federal Workers Outraged by Salary Freeze

Federal Workers Outraged by Salary Freeze

Seriously?  Let’s see, when my company was in financial straits, we were asked to take a week furlough and wages were frozen and no more 401K contributions were given.  Was I outraged?  No, I was glad to still be getting a check.  Now the federal government which operates on MY dime and YOURS, is in financial trouble and the workers are outraged?  Oh, I think I could type forever on this one…

Update

Categories: Opinion, Politics
  1. Darrell
    December 3, 2010 at 21:36

    Wait until the REAL cost cutting measures begin (not to be confused with this bit of political theater which the president would not get past the still Dem controlled Senate). Take a look at the protests/riots ongoing in Europe right now ands you’ll get a taste of what’s to come. All of the proffesionally outraged/SEIU/race baiters will be out in force DEMANDING more benefits entitlements in the face of even larger financial problems. I TRY not to buy into the whole “they are deliberately trying to bring down the system” paranoia but sometimes it’s REALLY hard not to.

    • Chad
      December 5, 2010 at 05:02

      I have to agree Darrell. I’m not one to look for the black helicopters either but you really have to wonder. These are exceptional times we are living in. Just look at how long unemployment benefits have been extended. And now people are upset because the line has been drawn at 99 weeks?

      • Steve
        December 6, 2010 at 17:34

        I agree with both of you! I mean these people are pissed because there only getting 99 weeks. Hell-o there is only 52 weeks in a year! But yet I know they will use the excuse..O I can’t find a job. I am throwing the bullshit flag. I say this as someone who has had two jobs most of his life and at times three. The fact is these people want a free ride and they will ride what ever rant they can to justify there laziness. As a good friend once told me..”Don”t drink the punch folks”! Have people in America forgotten that this country was built on hard work, sacrifice, and blood!! Not free loading, laziness, and abuse of the system. O yea and must we remind the Federal government that they are in a public service position!! Hell our forefathers did it for free. For freedom and a voice for the people! Think about this..These clowns are making 2-3 times more than us, the soldiers who fight there wars for them!!

  2. Mark
    December 10, 2010 at 14:49

    Okay, I’m back. Yes, the East Coast “nutjob.”
    2 points I’d like to raise, and get your opinion.
    #1. I’ve been in a number of companies that have gone through furloughs, wage freezes, etc., and while I agree with you that many people were happy just to have a job, I’ve never seen one of these happen without causing a plummeting morale. There was plenty of grousing that went along with it.
    #2. This is also related to the opinion that government workers are overpaid. I’m not disputing the fact that government could use a reduction in force; however, I am hardpressed to find a government worker who is getting paid more than his/her civilian counterpart in a comparable private sector job. In most cases, people I know who leave gov’t service do so to take a higher paying private sector job.

    Your opinions?

    Thanks,

    Mark

    • Chad
      December 10, 2010 at 16:07

      On point #1, I have to agree with the ECNJ. 😉 There was definitely grumbling going on when our wages were froze etc. No one particularly liked it, but they endured it. There was no outrage because I don’t think most private sector employees carry the same entitlement mentality that federal workers do. I could be wrong as I have never worked directly for the federal government; but it’s my impression anyhow. Point #2 – I’m going to cop out and provide a link to an article where someone analyzed federal data and came up with some conclusions. http://www.usatoday.com/news/nation/2010-03-04-federal-pay_N.htm

      • Mark
        December 10, 2010 at 22:03

        I think one of the points that I will stick in this discussion is brought up in this article. Many of the federal gov’t workers I deal with are older and have more experience than their counterparts in the private sector. I wonder how that issue is addressed in this study. Ie., will an electrical engineer or an economist that is right out of school be able to get into a position at NIST, the FTC, the DOE, the FCC, NASA, etc? Or will they have to work at a private sector job and gain the experience required. I honestly don’t know. Anechdotally, many I’ve talked to have to build their resume in the private sector first. My skepticism here is based on my experiences with people who make much less than they could in the private sector.
        You may ask, why do they stay in the gov’t then? A variety of reasons, including a sense of purpose, altruism, patriotism, access to opportunities and technologies they wouldn’t have in the private sector, and sometimes the comfort of a gov’t job. However, given the hours I’ve seen them put in, it’s not for a short work day.

      • Chad
        December 10, 2010 at 22:33

        Keep in mind this is based on an average. I don’t know what percent of govt workers you throw back beers with but I’m sure it’s not representative of the whole group. Of course most data “pulls” for statistical analysis usually are. I have not dug in to the nuts and bolts of it but I’m sure anyone with a little time can poke as many holes in it as they wish. From a stand back and look at it perspective or maybe a common sense view, government jobs have always been viewed as safe or “comfortable” as you put it. They are also becoming more and more unionized to where it really doesn’t matter how much private sector experience you have; just how long you stick around. You also bring up a good point about getting your experience in the private sector. If federal jobs keep out-pacing the private sector, where does that leave us?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

