Home > Opinion, Politics > Raising Taxes is good for the economy.

Raising Taxes is good for the economy.

I would like to hear everyone’s opinion on the age-old theory on taxes.  On a commonsensical high level of thought, I don’t see how raising taxes on those who create wealth and jobs, is a good thing for the U.S. economy.  I don’t see how pumping more of our money into a broken, irresponsible, inefficient,  spend-happy federal government is a good idea.  Can someone join me on this one?

Categories: Opinion, Politics
  1. Wally
    December 7, 2010 at 03:59

    It’s called the Laffer Curve. Research that and look at what Reagan did……

    Executive Summary: Don’t raise taxes if you want the economy to prosper.

    • Chad
      December 7, 2010 at 04:07

      What’s really bothers me too is that extending the current tax policy is not cutting taxes anyhow. It’s simply leaving the current situation alone. On the other hand, taxes will go up if they don’t extend the policy.

  2. Mark
    December 10, 2010 at 14:53

    Wally, the issue with what Reagan did is that he lowered taxes and increased spending, thus raising our debt.
    Now here’s a question: Did you like the economy during the late 90’s? Most people did. The slightly increased marginal tax rate didn’t seem to weigh that economy down. Yes, I’m being too general, because there were a lot of other factors involved, but it is something to think about.

  3. Steve
    December 14, 2010 at 17:48

    I am still a green horn when it comes to the whole taxation bit. However how about instead increasing taxes we start by eliminating all of these damn federal programs. I mean there are people who abuse the system and are getting a free ride by hard working American’s from the middle class who’s taxes pay for these things. Or how about we take back our government and get these two faced, happy spending bastards out of government. Have we forgotten the phrase ” FOR THE PEOPLE, BY THE PEOPLE”! Our government is not for the people, nor for there interest’s! How ever they keep being appointed by the people. By people who are either uniformed or just don’t give a crap. So the answer people come up with is more taxes!! How about we lay out the whole picture and look at the absolute habitual spending of our government. Like I said I am still green to this whole issue, but I figured I would chime in. I would like to branch off from this subject and ask my bro chad to check out the latest rant from the good president of asscrackistan.. Karzi! Once a post is up for what this man said I will comment…BECAUSE I AM HOT!!!!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

