Home > Quotes > About civil debate…

About civil debate…

“In a controversy, the instant we feel anger we have already ceased striving for the truth and have begun striving for ourselves.” – Siddhartha Gautama

Categories: Quotes
  1. August 2, 2012 at 10:27

    Here I am replying to my own post because, well, no one else does. haha. Anyhow as I ruminate on this subject of debating as I see it, it’s important to try to leave emotions out of the equation and use reason and logic. While I know this to be true for civil discourse, I am also the first to admit that I am passionate about lots of things and the second a button is pushed, I can feel my heart swell inside and I get that nervous feeling as I want to type 300 pages on why some jackass is way wrong. I’m getting better but still plenty of room for improvement. ;o)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

